Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Good (firm) pedal but clutch won't completely disengage

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2006, 06:18 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Good (firm) pedal but clutch won't completely disengage

I think I have a master cylinder issue.

I just put a new clutch, flywheel, and slave in a 99 TA. I first gravity bled the system (open the bleeder, wait for fluid to drain) to see how well that would work. After I did that, I had a very nice firm pedal, but it seemed that the clutch wouldn't completely disengage. With the pedal on the floor, I could freely move through all the forward gears but with it in gear, the car wanted to move forward a bit, as if the clutch was engaged slightly. It absolutely would not go into reverse. I really wasn't very suprised by this, having not done a propper bleed on the system. So I got some help and gave it a manual bleed. The result was the same, the clutch wouldn't completely disengage. Then I took a Mity vac and tried that approach. Every time I pulled any more than about 14" Hg, I started pulling more air out than fluid, but it would continue pull more vacuum, so I took it up to about 19-20" Hg. From there it would pull air (lots of it) all day. I vacuum bled it for a couple hours, continually getting air and obviously not getting anywhere. I checked the clutch engagement again and it was the same. Great pedal but not disengaging. Tried it again with less vacuum on it. This time I only pulled it down to about 13" Hg. I bled it there for about another hour and still got nowhere with it.

So again, I think I'm pulling air through the master cylinder and the weak master cylinder won't disengage the new clutch completely. Anyone else have any other ideas?