Midwestern Members IA, IL, IN , KY, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, WI, KS, OK

Minneapolis/St Paul Metro machine shop and tuner

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2018, 12:15 PM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Minneapolis/St Paul Metro machine shop and tuner

Hi guys. So I'm kinda new at this and My friend and I are putting a cam into a 2011 Camaro Ls3. I know We need to drop the heads off someplace to get the springs changed and have the heads freshened up and the car will need to go get a tune after we are done.

Can any of you guys in the MSP metro area recommend a machine shop and a tuner? We just want a good reputable shop we can trust to do a good job.

Thanks
Old 05-08-2018, 12:23 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

As far as tune, bring it to Carl at CJ tunes
Old 05-10-2018, 07:54 AM
On The Tree

Any other suggestions on tune? We called him and the price was kinda high so we want to shop around a bit.

Anyone know a machine shop to do heads you'd recommend?
Old 05-22-2018, 03:05 PM
Launching!

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts

I heard Wheeler Racing out of Blaine does excellent work. I don't have personal experience with them, but when I was looking for machine shops to take my block to get work done, they were recommended by a few different people. Other shops seem to have mixed reviews, but Wheeler seems to be mostly positive last time I looked.
Old 05-24-2018, 09:59 PM
12 Second Club

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts

Carl tuned mine as well.
Old 05-31-2018, 11:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i called carl and he would only do a full tune at full price. i only needed a partial tune so i went with mail order instead. i've never been to wheeler but i've always heard good things about them. i have been to TPIS and doug rippie motorsports. doug retired now his son runs it i think. have you called texas speed to check prices for your head work? goodluck!
Old 06-18-2018, 11:57 AM
On The Tree