Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

RARE 1999 Medium Metallic Blue Trans Am

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 10:29 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation RARE 1999 Medium Metallic Blue Trans Am

I am new to owning an LS1, i have owned a V6 firebird for 2 years and i have finally gotten my hands on a T/A, turns out, its medium metallic blue which is rare, and i am a UNC fan so it goes well with my clothes. everything is stock on the car except for the decal mods i have made like the overlay decals and pontiac inserts in the back. what would anyone suggest doing to my car first? magnaflow catback? ram-air hood? engine mods? Im new to the muscle car world and need some help please!
Old 09-20-2010, 10:38 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,685 Likes on 1,207 Posts

Originally Posted by TranZam99
what would anyone suggest doing to my car first?
Well that depends, what are your goals and limitations for the car?

Before you start buying mods, it's always best to figure out where you want to eventually be, what compromises you're willing to make (like driveability loss for horsepower, etc.), what requirements have to be met (like MPG or weather), and finally your budget.

Having said that, as a general rule of thumb, most people start with a lid and catback. But even here you need to be thinking ahead, because a catback that might sound good to you now on a stock car might be too loud for your taste if you plan headers/ORY/heads/cam later.
Old 09-20-2010, 10:43 AM
Teching In

yeah thats true i definatley understand what you mean. i just want to go beyond stock in horsepower and the way my car sounds and looks. i dont want the engine to be stock, i want more horsepower and for it to look better but i can always replace headers and stuff to aluminum or something?
Old 09-20-2010, 10:45 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Plan well now and save money later...
Old 09-20-2010, 11:49 AM
TECH Fanatic