Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Straight pipe/cutout

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 10:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Straight pipe/cutout

Wasup guys, I have a question would i lose power if i go straight pipe. If i go straight pipe i'm planning on putting a electric cutout. Right now i have a 80 serious flowmaster is to damn quite..
Old 10-19-2010, 10:41 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've got mids, ory, and a straight pipe.

Made 326rwhp and 347rwtq. Just figures to throw out for you.....
Old 10-19-2010, 10:47 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Whenever you unrestrict the exhaust system you will gain power.
Old 10-19-2010, 11:04 PM
Teching In

my car has longtubes pacesetters
Old 10-19-2010, 11:25 PM
TECH Regular

why do you wanna put a e-cutout with straight pipes?
Old 10-19-2010, 11:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

E-cutout with straight pipes?
Old 10-20-2010, 12:06 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by thegodfather899
why do you wanna put a e-cutout with straight pipes?
Originally Posted by Greekey
E-cutout with straight pipes?
I believe he means that by putting on a cutout it is the same thing as a straight pipe, and he's keeping the Flowmaster.

Just FYI a straight piped car sounds NOTHING like a car with a cutout and a catback. It's weird but it's true, and I know from personal experience. Straight piped LS1s sound like absolute ****. I drove for a couple days with no muffler while I was struggling to get my Magnaflow catback to fit correctly; it's my only car so I had to drive it that way. It was the nastiest sounding thing... like the old lifted redneck trucks that are all too common in my hick town. On the other hand, the cutout before the Magnaflow sounds awesome... not quite as sexy as true duals or a GMMG but for a good DD setup on a budget it fits the bill.

And to answer the OP's question, no, you will not lose any power. You will gain power with a cutout, especially over a Flowmaster catback.
Old 10-20-2010, 12:15 AM
Teching In