New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

99.9% Sure of where my recent & very noticeable power loss has come from.

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 09:16 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 99.9% Sure of where my recent & very noticeable power loss has come from.

So I'm pretty new to the whole F-body game. I bought my brothers 2000 SS just a few months ago and have put on about 4k miles since (Driving from Norcal to Socal and back a couple times). One day when I was painting my pitted chrome SS wheels I decided to chop off the SLP cat-back just to see how it would sound. It sounded pretty awesome but then I started to notice some serious power loss. I figured it was the chopping of the muffler and I didn't plan to keep it like that long so I welded it back on after only a few hundred miles. That didn't solve my problem and then I was thinking it had something to do with the clutch slipping cause it seemed like it just wouldn't hook. Then after some solid LS1tech research I read it could possibly be a clogged cat. So one day after a pretty solid 30 minute drive around town, I waited about 10 minutes after parking it and got underneath and felt the exhaust pipe after the cat.... It was cold, like it hadn't been driven in hours. I then reached up the pipe till I got to the cat and it was scorching hot. The exhaust is also extremely quite (obviously compared to it being straight piped) and even more so then when I originally bought it. The good news is that I have some FLP Longtubes and catted Y-pipe with IMCO Cat's (used but in good condition) ready to install. As far as I know I'm only missing the 02 extensions to do the header install. I wasn't sure when I was going to install it but now it seems like it has to be done sooner than later. Will driving with clogged cats harm my SS until I can find a weekend and some decent tools to install the headers?