Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anything wrong with this LS1?

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2014, 01:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anything wrong with this LS1?

Hi everyone,

Super noob here. I'm considering purchasing this 383 Forged LS1 car but a little concerned about what's shown on these dyno sheets:

Dyno run on pump gas. Notice where the power drops off.

Using a Dynocom 6000

Current owner thinks it may have something to do with the cam. Motor was built for a drag truck with auto transmission.

Should I be concerned?
Old 08-30-2014, 06:38 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm psycho ,not psychic .what are all the specs ?power will fall off when rpms meet the cams useful power range .
Old 08-31-2014, 01:45 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Need to know what it was dynoed with from intake to exhaust and what kind of transmission/clutch/converter. If there were some mechanical issue past 5500RPM I think you'd likely have a mechanical failure(boom!) not power loss(so probably cam, etc. not geared toward high RPM). That's nice numbers for relatively low RPM. I'd put that in the Jeep any day. If that is in an RX7, hold on to your butthole when you hit the gas. Likely cam/intake swap would move the top end out a bit but you have better than 400 tq from 2500-6000. That sounds FUN.

Aside from regular maintenance, limiting RPMs is one of the easiest ways to increase the life of your engine..so don't frown on it just because it isn't peaking at 6500-7000 like some other motors.
Old 09-01-2014, 11:22 PM

Thanks for the replies guys. I'm not frowning upon it for having lower peaks, just concerned because I'm not sure if I've seen an LS1 engine perform like that. The last thing I want is to buy a car and having to pay for it to sit you know? Anyway, it's reassuring that you say it might not be a mechanical issue and just perhaps cams.

If anyone else wants to chime in, here are the specs:

383 Forged LS1 with less than 2000 miles