Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is port matching necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2016, 03:23 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is port matching necessary?

Im new to the LS world. Ive done alot of reading/research, and Ive read alot about porting factory heads, but I dont see anywhere where people are porting/port matching the intake manifolds? Are most aftermarket manifolds sufficient enough "as cast"? Im leaning towards the carburetor or aftermarket TBI with the Edelbrock Victor route.
Old 05-16-2016, 10:18 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

It's not so much "matching" as it is just simply porting the manifold. Most OEM and aftermarket manifolds do see some gains from porting the runners but it's just from increasing airflow and such.

Portmatching is more of an oldschool term not so much something seen in today's world.
Old 05-16-2016, 11:08 PM
Teching In

Thanks redtan... Im definitely oldschool
Old 05-17-2016, 08:39 AM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

Originally Posted by New2LS
Im new to the LS world. Ive done alot of reading/research, and Ive read alot about porting factory heads, but I dont see anywhere where people are porting/port matching the intake manifolds? Are most aftermarket manifolds sufficient enough "as cast"? Im leaning towards the carburetor or aftermarket TBI with the Edelbrock Victor route.
It depends on the size of the engine and runner CSA. A cathedral port Vic Jr. has relatively small runners and would work great on a 5.3-6.0L engine, but it would choke a 454ci stroker.

On the other hand, the rectangle port heads like the LS3 and LS7 have pretty big runners, so the manifolds are usually more generous in terms of CSA and could support larger engines.
Old 05-17-2016, 09:34 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Here is some knowledge regarding port matching directly from Brian Tooley: I had asked him about a ported FAST intake for my setup.