New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm Baffled, Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2020, 03:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm Baffled, Please Help

I hope someone can help me. I've been trying to get this lq4 to run for 3 days. It's in a 2006 Chevy 2500hd, 2wd extended cab, base model work truck, vinyl floor, crank windows, base base.. I'm a pretty competent mechanic. For some reason that I cannot figure out I have no spark. Here's what I've done so far
- Verified >12v to pink wire of each ignition coil with key on
- Verified <1ohm resistance between each coil connector and battery negative on brown ground wire
- Verified pcm commanding spark through hp tuners
- Replaced all 8 ignition coils with known good coils
- Replaced all 8 plug wires with know good wires
- Replaced all 8 spark plugs with brand new iridium ACDELCO plugs
- Removed VATS and downstream O2's from PCM using hp tuners
- Check and filled all fluids
- Checked, unbolted, cleaned, and re-installed ALL grounds. Harness to engine, engine to cab, cab to chassis, battery to chassis, engine to battery, ALL OF THEM

I have everything else, Fuel, compression, air, but it won't spark and I can't figure out why.

The ONLY thing I can see in hp tuners that I can think MIGHT be causing no spark is the oil pressure reading. PCM is reading -0.3psi oil pressure with key on. Both when I'm cranking the engine and not cranking. It reads -0.3 all the time. But I thought the pcm would at least let the engine fire for a second before shutting down for no oil pressure. Is that not true and the no oil pressure reading is preventing spark and I need to figure out if it's a bad sensor or truly no oil pressure?

I really appreciate any help. I've been searching all day and tried everything I have been able to find and I still can't get any spark.
Old 10-08-2020, 12:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 36 Likes on 28 Posts