Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What size dry jets? getting mixed info

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2010, 09:27 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What size dry jets? getting mixed info

Im new to the nitrous game. This is my first setup and im just doin a dry shot into the lid with a nozzle on each side. I pulled 2 degrees of timing and swapped to TR6 plugs. Have a racetronics pump and stock injectors. Descreened MAF also. idk if this setup is ok bu thats why im asking.

Its a used NOS kit and all i got was a 20 and a 24 jet in the kit. So thats what i have in there right now.

Well i have checked the stickies and NOS website and a few other forums and im seeing all kinds of answers.

NOS dry kits are supp. rated at flywheel HP. So if i jet it with .032 jets thats 125 Flywheel HP which equals like 110 WHP maybe.

I dont know how big i can go. i ordered .036 jets that will be here today i just would like a little clarity. The way i figures it thats a 150 shot but to the wheels will be about 125.

Anybody running this type of setup? Id like some advice on my setup maybe some does and donts.

Thanks for the input guys.
Old 08-11-2010, 10:14 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I assume since you said you have one nozzle in each side of the lid you've got something like the 5177 kit?

Those jets that you currently have are TINY. Here's the NOS suggested starting points for that kit:

75HP 28N
85HP 30N
100HP 32N

I'd say a .036 MIGHT be close to 125 horse....

Also, throw in a set of non projected plugs instead of those TR6's
Old 08-11-2010, 10:29 AM
12 Second Club

Non projected plug? i just bought those TR6 plugs cause ive read everywhere there a good nitrous plug. Apparently i dont know the diffrence?

And i look right at that scale in the sticky and then i went to that jet calculator thats in there also and it was coming up with something different.

I assume its the 5177 but like i said it was used but and he didnt know what it was.