Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuning; is it ok to start with the wideband then go to plug reading?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 02:51 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 905 Likes on 646 Posts

Default Tuning; is it ok to start with the wideband then go to plug reading?

As the topic says can you use the wideband O2 sensor to get you close to where you need to be then start reading plugs or should you just go straight to plugs?

I know reading plugs is the best way to go at which I have zero experience with and am trying to learn.

I know the bigger shot you run reading plugs become more important.

I am afraid with my lack of plug reading skills I will be so far off I won't know what to do. That's why I thought the wideband might get me close starting off.

I have read several threads from HSW and Nitro Dave about depending on the persons knowledge/experience depends on what information they give out, if that makes sense. Nitro Dave explained it better than me.

I am going to be using 100 wet shot from a plate on my engine which "should" make around 430rwhp on motor.

I have the racetronix pump w/ hot wire, Mircroedge+, Interface, FPSS and a wideband O2. I am using the BR7 spark plug. Compression is 11:1

I am going to have my tuner set up the IAT table so I can use the interface to adjust how much timing I am pulling. I am going to start at a 50-75 shot and work my way up and learn as I go.

I know each motor is different but what is a "safe" area to be at with the air/fuel mixture? I have read rich is not always safe.

There are some super smart people in here and I hope I can get pointed in the right direction.

Thanks for any input.

Jason
Old 09-28-2010, 03:58 PM
Chris@NitroDaves

We have had customer's do this in the past with no problems. You can start off with a wideband then move to plug reading easily.
Old 09-28-2010, 07:01 PM
9 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post