Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 12:17 PM
Village Idiot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?

I am new to the LSx motors somewhat... I got an LS2 on the way and want to implement my 100-150 dry shot but am concerned what continuous use will do to the motor itself... I am aware you got a little piston slap in these motors, and are not blue printed at factory..So a little play is always evident which concerns me...

Currently I have a Lexus SC400 1uz-fe motor that has a 150,000 miles on it, it's a quad over head cam V8 4.0 aluminum block motor and I have been running a 150 nitro shot on it regularly for the last six years. It is my daily driver... An Ls2 is going to be swapped in shortly...This 1uz-fe is one of those motors that can really handle nitrous oxide and not be destroyed by it over time... After 6 years of continued use the motor still idles perfect, uses one quart of oil between changes, and no problems to report what so ever... Everything else on the car has taken a beating, drivetrain, spindles, joints, axles, etc.

The Question - Wondering how the LS2 will handle the same 150 nitrous output over time... I race every weekend, what can I expect?

This is what my current SC400 engine and dry shot nitrous system.. I want to keep the dryshot intact in the car combined with the LS2 motor.. Any thoughts on this idea?
Attached Thumbnails The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?-picture-20105.jpg   The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?-hpim0128a.jpg   The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?-hpim0407b.jpg   The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?-hpim0796.jpg   The effect of Nitrous on engine internals?-picture-20122.jpg  

Last edited by JIBBBY; 09-10-2008 at 12:35 PM.
Old 09-10-2008, 12:23 PM
10 Second Club

How are you adding fuel post maf on your setup?
Old 09-10-2008, 12:31 PM