Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

doing body work outside

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 06:49 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default doing body work outside

hey,

i've never done body work before and only a bit of painting (ceta's and berger's). i was wondering if it's a bad idea to sand down and prime a car in a parking lot. my car was polo green, then got a cheap maaco job previously which is now faded, plus i've got a blue fender that sticks out after a run-in with a deer.

i'm looking to do the body work myself but don't have a garage. i'll leave the painting for someone else.

and while i'm here...
i'm probably only going to be able to afford a single stage type paint. i'm hoping to do silver. any recommendations for a cheap silver paint? or would a staged paint job be better... (by cheap i mean i got $500)
it's not a show car and doesn't have to be perfect, i'd just like the paint to be fresh, not green, and get the car all one color.

any help??
Old 03-24-2010, 07:41 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by blackhawk400
hey,

i've never done body work before and only a bit of painting (ceta's and berger's). i was wondering if it's a bad idea to sand down and prime a car in a parking lot. my car was polo green, then got a cheap maaco job previously which is now faded, plus i've got a blue fender that sticks out after a run-in with a deer.

i'm looking to do the body work myself but don't have a garage. i'll leave the painting for someone else.

and while i'm here...
i'm probably only going to be able to afford a single stage type paint. i'm hoping to do silver. any recommendations for a cheap silver paint? or would a staged paint job be better... (by cheap i mean i got $500)
it's not a show car and doesn't have to be perfect, i'd just like the paint to be fresh, not green, and get the car all one color.

any help??