Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Can you clear coat an engine compartment?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2010, 09:29 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can you clear coat an engine compartment?

Ok guys, need your help on this one... I'm painting the engine compartment on my Lt1... The people at my local paint supplier told me to go with a single stage paint and not to clear it... Well the problem im having with this is i that i took their advice and painted it with a single stage paint... But since im new at this i got some runs and dirt particles in the paint, other than this everything looks great...
So what im asking is, is there anyway to save my paint job the way it is... Cuz i read you can't sand and buff a single stage metallic paint... Or i was thinking of sanding down all the inperfections hitting it again with the single stage paint then throwing some clear on top of it, this way i know for sure i can wet sand and buff... But will the clear coat hold up in a engine compartment?

All the advice would be greatly appreciated... And here's some pics to show what i got right now....

Old 05-03-2010, 11:16 AM
12 Second Club

You can sand and buff single stage metalics but chances are you will loose some metalic causing it to look a little differant. I would try it and see what it looks like, since it's under the hood it may not be as noticable. You can clear single stage but I wouldn't do it, I've seen alot of delamintion of clear from doing it. You could have base cleared it and been fine to start with.
Old 05-03-2010, 03:37 PM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Try to do it on the bumper support since it will be covered anyway. If it works then move to the frame rail and then finally the wheel wells.

Side note: How hjard was it to remove the body harness from the firewall? Last time i did mine it was with the dash out and i do not want to remove the dash in my 02 but i want a quality job under there.