Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

swapping PCM's

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2015, 01:37 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 328 Likes on 246 Posts

Default swapping PCM's

I've got a 98 pcm and harness that the ECM is not reading bank 1 sensor1 02 inputs.

I got a second 98 PCM by the grace of god on the cheap, but I dont know if its a manual or an auto...I have a manual.

My car runs on a stand alone harness since it was a v6 swap, so vats and the usuals wont matter. I have HP tuners but I'm still learning with it. I know I can take my tune and write it to the new ECM, but will it matter if that PCM is from a auto?

thanks
Old 09-03-2015, 01:45 PM
TECH Addict

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Save the current tune on the car.

Install the new PCM and "read" it, Then license it.

open your old tune and while connected to the car do a "write entire" and overide whatever tune is in the PCM with your original tune you want to keep..
Old 09-03-2015, 01:49 PM
TECH Veteran

Perfect thanks
Old 09-03-2015, 01:52 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by blackbyrd
Perfect thanks
just make sure your car battery and laptop are charged so they don't die during the "flash"

The 98 pcm's are know to brick/freeze permanently if power is lost during a write entire
Old 09-03-2015, 01:56 PM
TECH Veteran

will do

even if it doesnt work it was $25 and I have a 99+ ecm i got for free but I really didnt want to go through repinning the harness. I still have enough credits to unlock one more PCM. Even though I ruled out everything I could think of thats causing the issue this will tell me for sure if its still not reading the 02 sensor.
Old 09-03-2015, 02:02 PM
TECH Addict

will do even if it doesnt work it was $25 and I have a 99+ ecm i got for free but I really didnt want to go through repinning the harness. I still have enough credits to unlock one more PCM. Even though I ruled out everything I could think of thats causing the issue this will tell me for sure if its still not reading the 02 sensor.