Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some help getting car to idle after Heads/Cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2016, 02:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help getting car to idle after Heads/Cam swap

First off, let me state that I am a total newb on tuning and such so please bare with me. I've done a lot of searching on hptuners forum and on here and still not figuring out what I need to do as far as getting the car to idle so I can do the proper filling procedures for the trans and bleeding out the cooling system.

I have been able to fire the car but not without the help of giving it some throttle to keep running. As soon as I let off the car dies. Before heads/cam all the trans work and stall converter, the car ran fine and was dyno tuned. My tuner is unavailable for a few weeks so taking the car to him is out of question right now.
I need advice/help on the things that need to be changed for the heads and cam swap to get it to idle. Car has stock MAF and stock injectors right now. I do have gtp injectors but don't know how to update the IFR table for those injectors. The scan shows that all STFT and LTFT's are at zero and not fluctuating when the vehicle is started.

Upgrades to engine:

Tick Performance SNS Stage 3 standard lobe cam (235/243, .630/.610 111+2)
Texas Speed PRC stage 2.5 CNC ported 241 heads (2.02 exh./1.575 int. Valves)
BTR .660 Vavle Springs and retainers
LS2 Chain
Tick Performance ported LS6 oil pump
Comp rocker trunion upgrade
GTP Injectors(still need installed and tuned in)

Upgrades already on car before Heads/Cam swap:

LS6 intake
TSP 1 7/8 LT's
SLP Lid

Upgrades to trans:

Billet super hold 2nd/4th servo
Alto red clutches(full rebuild)
Sonnax high-rev spring kits
Sonnax input drum sleeve
Sonnax .500 boost valve
Sonnax Pinless Accumulators
Kevlar wide band
Yank ss3600 stall converter

Like stated I'm a total newb to tuning. I have no clue where to start on this so please take it easy on me.