PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

How do the Pro's do it?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2006 | 10:12 PM
TECH Apprentice

Default How do the Pro's do it?

I tried a search but nothing came up so here goes. Do the pro tuners alter the ve table or adjust fueling via the INJ pw? I'm new to tuning with HPTuners and it takes me quite a bit of time to go out and try to hit a majority of the histo, make changes, and then go back out and see where my trims are. Not to mention timing, MAF (if your using it) and trans settings. I was just wondering how they do it since I've never witnessed a live dyno tune.
Thanks for your insight.
Old 01-23-2006 | 10:14 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

the handful of tunes ive seen have alterd either ifr, maf or pe or a combination of the three...i have seen one tune that used the maf for all the fueling & used the stock pe table. Saw one the other day that used ifr & pe. My intial tune was done via ifr & maf if i recall. If they touched the ve tables it wasnt noticable enough for me to tell.
Old 01-24-2006 | 11:16 AM
TECH Apprentice

Thanks man. I wouldn't think they would have time to jack with the ve table. Seems like it's better to do it yourself if you have the means and some help from LS1Tech.
Old 01-24-2006 | 12:00 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

the thing is up until 2 years ago doing a full ve remap wouldve been a painstaking process...with programs like hptuners & efilive they have made things so much more user friendly...but when you've already invested $25 grand in ls1 edit many would rather just stick with that and do it the old fashioned way. I think in the next few years you might find more tuners out there doing VE tuning because of programs like those and having load bearing dynos. It honestly doesnt take much longer in the end.
Old 01-24-2006 | 07:54 PM
TECH Enthusiast

It doesnt take much longer and it seems your car or truck would be much more responsive in the end and have a fuller tune.

Chris
Old 01-24-2006 | 08:54 PM