PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

newbie really needing help understanding ls1 crank and cam sensor functions help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2006 | 09:41 PM
Teching In

Default newbie really needing help understanding ls1 crank and cam sensor functions help!

hey guys im a newbie here and am desperate for some help,im adapting a ls1 ecu to another brand engine and have a few questions i hope someone can help me answer.the first question is,what is the actual function of the ls1s cam sensor,i am very familiar with the ls1 and know that on the earlier motors they had it located on the camshaft and on the ls2 style it was located on the upper cam gear,same idea,just different placement,they were both half moon shaped.the only thing i can gather is that its main function is to tell the engine if its on the compression or exhaust stroke.thus the reason for only 2 differnt possible readings.what else does the cam sensor do?i also know that the placment of the magnetic pickup wheel or crank trigger is on the crank and is very particular about the placement of the wheel in relation to tdc.im not sure if anyone can answer this,but how would the ls1 ecu interpet a different or number of pulses from the cam sensor and crank sensor?would it see what it needs to see and that the cam timing and crank timing are correct or would it freak it out?my engine now also has a reluctor wheel on the crank in the virtually identical location as the ls1,but my cam sensor has multiple slots as opposed to the ls1s 180 degree reading possibility.i am about to put the motor in and dont want to have to pull it out so if i needed to do something different for the cam and crank triggers,id like to do it before the engine is in.any help you guys can give would be so so appreciated.
Old 02-17-2006 | 08:35 AM
10 Second Club

Just curious why you are using the LS1 PCM for another engine? Also, are you using the LS1 sensors? If not, compability will be an issue.