Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Looking at a GTO - help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2008, 09:48 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking at a GTO - help!

So, this weekend I went and looked at an '04 GTO with 64k miles and a 6-speed. The car seems mechanically sound, other than a small radiator leak (cheap fix) and what I assume is just pulley squeal (unless there is something else it could be?) Is there anything in specific I need to look for when I go back again; like any problems that the '04s are prone having? Also, just out of curiosity, what rear-end and gearing do they have? I'm new to these GTO's so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

-Chad
Old 11-09-2008, 10:49 AM
Staging Lane

dont buy an 04....Period......
Old 11-09-2008, 11:41 AM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by shannon
dont buy an 04....Period......
Why? Obviously the LS2 cars would be preferred but I'm just looking for a nice DD.
Old 11-09-2008, 12:56 PM
TECH Enthusiast

04's are the best!!! Bought mine for 16k out the door almost a year ago with 28k miles on it. Almost 20k miles added and I am happy to report not a single problem. Just trying to fight the urge to mod it...

Last edited by nemanracing; 11-09-2008 at 05:56 PM.
Old 11-09-2008, 03:13 PM
On The Tree

wow that is a lot of miles. Check the inside of the tires for any strut rub, get a carfax, just give the car its paces on a test drive and make sure it is all what you want. Not sure of any specific issues besides the strut rub, but don't think that was even much of an issue in 04. I have a few friends with higher mileage 04's and they are still running strong.
Old 11-09-2008, 05:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

I have an 04 with 83K and 400+ HP for 16.5 K

lots of appearance, full suspension, and a really nice motor setup.

The LS1 GTO's cannot be beat in terms of fun for the dollar.
Old 11-10-2008, 04:15 AM
Staging Lane