Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

New to me GTO.. Bushings in order?

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2015, 01:13 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to me GTO.. Bushings in order?

I just picked up a 04 A4 with 67k miles for 11,500. After having it for a few days I decided to push it on a off ramp a bit to see how it handles, but the steering was very vague. Little feedback through the wheels, and the front end seems to track left and right slightly with a constant steering input. Very uninspiring confidence wise. What should be the first things to check and how should I go about checking them? I have no experience suspension wise so I don't know what I'm doing.
Old 05-18-2015, 03:37 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

Besides checking the complete car for wear, new radius rod bushings will help transform the car. There are several available, the k-mac built type are the best for that application. They are hard to find, I usually carry them. Some of the other bushings may be better left to several manufactures, rather than one.
Old 05-18-2015, 10:42 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You need at the least front radius rod and strut tower bushings/bearings with bump stops. Also check your ball joints. In the rear inner and outer control arm bushings and rear subframe bushings (Energy red are cheap and good). If you have the coin springs and dampers all the way around.
Old 05-19-2015, 02:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

LS1Tech 10 Year

Energy are cheap but not much has gone into design. Whiteline have a smaller sleeve and will allow cradle to center nearly perfect without a tool. Super pro and kmac also have added design features making them more appealing than Energy imo.

As I said before, different companies offer advantages on certain applications. I would look to kmac, super pro and whiteline to outfit my car today.
Old 05-19-2015, 07:32 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by 2QWK4RU 06 GOAT