Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm going with a crate 480/495hp LS376. What computer?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2018, 10:56 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 161 Likes on 140 Posts

Default I'm going with a crate 480/495hp LS376. What computer?

After a lot of research I've decided on this engine:

GM LS3 480

Its the same engine as the LS376/430 and the LS376/525. Only the camshafts are different. In my opinion, the LS376/480 is the best deal of the three.

My question is what computer management system should I use for this engine? Of course I could buy this:

http://LS376/480 Controller

Is this my best bet or should I be looking at aftermarket controllers? Self tuning? I'm a complete newbie to tuning and computers.

It's all going in my 4-cyl 1991 Mustang notch!
Old 12-09-2018, 11:54 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,022 Likes on 2,353 Posts

If you are a complete newbie to tuning and such, you might be better off with something cut and dried, like the GM controller you mention.
Old 12-09-2018, 12:10 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1,394 Likes on 880 Posts

There is no reason not to use the GMPP harness and ECU kit that matches the crate engine that you buy, especially if you don't know anything about tuning. If you wanted something that you could easily tune and do a lot of other things with down the road, then the Holley Dominator is excellent. Having said that, you WILL have to tune it, despite the self tuning claims. The base fuel map will get self-tuned fairly quickly, but all other parameters (there are many) will need to be fiddled with for optimal performance and drivability.

Andrew
Old 12-09-2018, 02:05 PM
TECH Enthusiast

G and Andrew, thank you for your replies. I have absolutely no tuning experience but I'm a complete DIYer and I do all of my own mechanical work. The entire Fox LS swap will be done by me and unfortunately, probably me alone .