Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Help me with this piston movement/noise

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2019, 10:50 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Help me with this piston movement/noise

first I'm no mechanic, this the probably basic question. We were rolling the LH6 over tonight and it was making some noise. What's the cause of this and what to do about it?

Last edited by dewchugr; 01-17-2019 at 10:59 PM.
Old 01-18-2019, 12:49 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 474 Likes on 354 Posts

It's called piston rock/slap. Basically as pistons wear the distance between the piston skirt and cylinder wall widens and allows the piston to rock in the bore.

Usually requires new cylinder boring and new pistons but that can only be determined by disassembly and measuring everything.
Many engines will run fine with some wear but will make noise on initial start until the piston has a chance to thermally expand.

Last edited by LLLosingit; 01-18-2019 at 12:54 AM.
Old 01-18-2019, 08:00 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by LLLosingit
It's called piston rock/slap. Basically as pistons wear the distance between the piston skirt and cylinder wall widens and allows the piston to rock in the bore.

Usually requires new cylinder boring and new pistons but that can only be determined by disassembly and measuring everything.
Many engines will run fine with some wear but will make noise on initial start until the piston has a chance to thermally expand.

rock/slap.
Thanks for the link!

My concern now is whether this would be to much or OK to use. I'm guessing it has around 140-150k on it. When I bought it it was "running but made noise" When we got into it it had a lifter that had come apart in the middle. Also, it's going to be a small turbo setup.

Last edited by dewchugr; 01-18-2019 at 11:05 AM.
Old 01-21-2019, 07:44 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Time for a full rebuild.
Old 01-21-2019, 10:23 PM
On The Tree