New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 ws6 trans am Mod Advice Plzzzz Helpppp

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2024, 07:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 ws6 trans am Mod Advice Plzzzz Helpppp

So I'm new to threads but I have a 2000 Pontiac firebird trans am ws6 M6 EGR deleted has some suspension and axle work(some pictures in profile) long tube headers Corsa Exhaust no cats Slp lid kit most of the bolt ons Just put new Weld wheels and tires Looking to upgrade the engine some more still has stock ls1 intake and heads was thinking about a head and cam package and maybe a intake??? got about 5k saved up. may decide to turbo in the years to come but not right now. I'm wanting a reliable car around 5 or 600hp Not a daily driver but if I want to hop in it and go 5 hours to the beach I want to make it back home with no worries. Plzzzz Help All Advice Is appreciated!!!!!
Old 05-15-2024, 06:33 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 197 Likes on 171 Posts

If you have $5k and you want 500 horsepower I think I’d look at the turbo option first. I think it’d be cheaper, you’d make more power, and it’d have better slow speed driveability than if you went with new heads and a “big” cam.
I don’t have any first hand experience with a turbo on an LS but I’m assuming it would start “getting into boost” around 3k rpm. With the “big cam” you won’t be into the powerband until you’re in the upper RPM range more than likely.
The following users liked this post:
Aceic (05-15-2024)
Old 05-15-2024, 01:40 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,602 Likes on 1,154 Posts