Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Blowey to no blowey

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2024, 08:39 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Blowey to no blowey

I have a Magnuson SC on my LS2 GTO. I am putting a replacement motor in it, which is not cheap. I am considering selling off the SC to help offset that cost.

Generally, how involved is returning it back to stock? Is it a matter of adding the intake manifold back? The car came with the SC -- so being a novice, I do not exactly know what a stock configuration looks like.
Old 07-02-2024, 09:10 AM
TECH Addict

Received 538 Likes on 400 Posts

having no actual experience in the matter either, the way id approach it is find the install manual for the kit that you have and read it from the first page to the last. then from the last page to the first to get an idea of the work involved. i know the centri kits end up with a lot more cutting and relocating of little things that it seems like.
The following users liked this post:
Blown_05GTO (07-02-2024)
Old 07-02-2024, 09:36 AM
TECH Addict

Received 526 Likes on 408 Posts

Leave the blower, get a junkyard 5.3 short block, swap heads and keep truckin.
Blown_05GTO (07-02-2024)
Old 07-02-2024, 09:41 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by The ******
Leave the blower, get a junkyard 5.3 short block, swap heads and keep truckin.
looking back, wish I had done this.
Old 07-02-2024, 09:48 AM
TECH Addict

Did you sell the blower already?
I'd leave it on and just turn the boost down to a very safe level and have Pat G. tune it especially if its a DD.
Old 07-03-2024, 10:20 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by The ******
Did you sell the blower already?
I'd leave it on and just turn the boost down to a very safe level and have Pat G. tune it especially if its a DD.
Not yet. But I think I'll do that, and just keep it. Don't want to screw around with acquiring all the stock parts, tunes, etc. It really is nice with that maggie SC.