Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Converting Coaxial Speaker to Component for Monsoon

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2010, 04:17 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Converting Coaxial Speaker to Component for Monsoon

I had to chose between getting replacement component speakers for my blown Monsoon passenger side speaker or buying a new HU with usb/aux in since I mainly listen to sat radio or my iPod. I got a good deal on an aftermarket HU so that killed the $$$ for speakers. After reading a bunch of threads, I decide to try to do the coaxial to component speaker mod for a temporary speaker fix.

NOTE: I’m not an audio expert and I fully plan on getting real component speakers later on. I figured what the hell, what do I have to lose since I already had a pair of coax speakers lying around. Also, you’re trying this at your own risk – I have no idea what could happen to your amp or speakers if you mix up the wires

I basically followed the info in these threads; especially the Monsoon FAQ, which details which wires go to the tweeter.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/stereo-el...come-here.html

http://forum.camarov6.com/showthread.php?t=41763

https://ls1tech.com/forums/stereo-el...nsoon-faq.html

After taking the door panel off, everything was just as listed in the FAQ as far as wiring. To remove the speaker, you need to take out the entire housing to easily get to the stock wiring connector; only three screws need to come out.

After taking out the speakers, I was carefully to clearly label each wire as listed in the FAQ. I cut the stock wiring harness off the blown Monsoon, clipped the tweeter wires off the coax replacement and soldered the wires as appropriate. I didn’t clip the tweeter wire close because I can re-solder them and reuse them when I get real component speaker.