Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Thinking of Replacing Strano's for Eibach's

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 10:51 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Thinking of Replacing Strano's for Eibach's

Hey, jus' looking for advice on this subject: (I plan on swapping out the fronts and not the rears.) I've been riding on Strano's for jus' under two years and the ride quality is a bit harsh. I knew this going into swapping springs as I was more concerned with looks than comfort. I was riding on stock shocks as I was saving up money for Koni's. I jus' recently swapped in some Koni's and the ride quality is still too harsh for me. I have the front Koni's set at 4 sweeps from full firm and the rears set on full soft. The roads in Chicago are pretty bad and I cringe everytime I go over rough areas, which is pretty consistent throughout Chicago. Now, here's my question: Given that the spring rate for the front Strano's are 550 and the Eibach Sportlines are 360, would that mean that the ride quality would be less harsh? I also like that the front Sportlines allow for a bigger drop (1.4-1.6), (which is the reason why I'll be keeping the rear Strano's in - for a Raked look.) So whatcha guy's think? What would be the Pro's and Con's of each?
Old 05-20-2009, 11:48 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well in my opinion, when I've driven over REAL bad roads like some of the roads in Fall River then I don't think it matters what kind of spring you have. Those roads just plain hurt. Luckily I don't have to drive on those roads too often. If I did, then I'd want a truck. I'd imagine those roads are either similar to the ones I'm describing, or we just have different ride quality preferences. I would think the sportline springs will only make the ride quality worse. Less travel, lower springrate doesn't seem like what you'd want. I'd probably go with stock springs.
Old 05-21-2009, 12:51 AM
TECH Senior Member