Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Could this be causing my rear squeaking?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 05:22 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Could this be causing my rear squeaking?

Today I finally got a chance to replace my LCAs with UMIs tubular non-adjustable ones with poly bushings, hoping it would eliminate my rear suspension squeak / noise. Well, after greasing and replacing my new LCAs, the squeaking is still there. I also sprayed grease on the surface of some bushings, but to no advantage. So after replacing my shocks and LCAs, what else can be causing that noise? I lifted the rear axle but have no idea where the noise is coming from. It doesnt sound like its the PHB either. Anyone got any suggestions?

Also, does anyone know what this is called? Im not a suspension expert, but it looks kinda wasted, so i extra sprayed it with grease
Could that be causing the squeaking?
Attached Thumbnails Could this be causing my rear squeaking?-.jpg  
Old 06-24-2010, 11:12 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Ya might want to actually wash the parts BEFORE taking pictures so we can see it clearly...
Old 06-25-2010, 02:06 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

What's being outlined in the picture is a "sway bar endlink". The bushings on them can wear out over time, and can either be squeeking, or if really worn, can be crumbling and rattling around. In either case, replacing them isn't expensive or difficult, so I would give it a try.
Old 06-25-2010, 09:04 PM
TECH Addict

Thanks for the info. Im gonna go ahead and buy a pair of these. I saw theyre like twenty bucks at autozone for the energy suspension ones. Hopefully, this stops the rear squeaking, and later on, ill buy the whole swaybar kit.
Old 06-25-2010, 09:43 PM
TECH Addict