Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

how does 15x10 rears and skinnies affect handling?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2004, 06:36 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default how does 15x10 rears and skinnies affect handling?

I love the look of the big tire/small tire old school muscle car. I want you guys to be honest and describe how driving you car changed after you put 15" rears with narrow fronts on your car. ABS work okay? Does the car still handle close to factory?What is your combo? Fitment issues?
thanks to all that post.
Old 02-10-2004, 06:56 PM
TECH Apprentice

please tell me you aren't serious...
Old 02-10-2004, 07:30 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

well you definitly dont want to go ripping around corners w/ a skinny on the front.

JR
Old 02-10-2004, 07:36 PM
11 Second Club

Yes, I am serious and I understand the obvious. I have been building cars since 1977. I just wonder if these F-bodies can handle the fat/skinny tire combo better than an old school car which handled like crap from the factory. I don't intend 3.5 up front. I plan a 6-8" rim up front with a 205 or 225 tire.
thanks.
Old 02-10-2004, 09:23 PM
TECH Senior Member

The 3.5's are that bad. In fact, other than cornering they "feel" better than the 275/17's.

With a radial on the back, the car drives fine. With the ET Streets, it does have a little "wiggle", that should be expected when running bias ply on the back and skinny radials in the front.

I drive mine back and forth to the track, usually a 100 or so miles each way without issues.. I just have to remember what tires I have on
Old 02-10-2004, 09:52 PM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by WILWAXU
With the ET Streets, it does have a little "wiggle", that should be expected when running bias ply on the back and skinny radials in the front.