Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Suspension Mods / Dual Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2011, 08:55 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Mods / Dual Exhaust

I am fairly new to the thread and I have searched to see if my question has been covered with no luck. So hopefully this isnt something that has been cevered.

I have a 1998 Camaro Z28 Convert. with 10,000 miles on it. The only Mod that has been done is a new lid. Other then that this thing is completely stock. Anyway, i am most likely going to be putting true dual exhaust on this car.

With said, What / If any suspension mods are a must, prior to the duals being installed. My worry is that if i have the duals installed, the exhaust might run in the way of say a panhard bar, or something to that effect. At this point i don't intend on lowering the car, however i will be buying a set of Koni shocks. If its lowered it would be the perch and hose mod. I don't want to lower it too much.

I dont intend on drag racing the car, at some point i would be happy around 400 hp. Want a fun summer cruiser that handles great.

Thanks in advance.

Derek
Old 02-06-2011, 08:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

I believe that you need a PHB relocation kit as far as suspension, and I hear it's normally a PITA having true duals and being lowered any because they will hit and rub on everything. Not my experience but I have seen multiple threads about this topic.
Old 02-07-2011, 09:22 AM
TECH Addict

If you're going to run dumped true duals then you don't have to worry about the phb. I would think about changing the torque arm because some aftermarket ones will actually give you more room for the exhaust.
Old 02-07-2011, 11:55 AM
Launching!

body mount tq arms won't allow true duals, except maybe the new kooks kit.
Old 02-07-2011, 12:50 PM
TECH Junkie