Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Lowered And hooking hard?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2020, 02:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts

Default Lowered And hooking hard?

How many of you lowered guys are still hooking hard? I'm concerned about instant center under the car and while I have many adjustable components I'm still very new to tuning the suspension to work and that's just me being completely honest. I'm yet to get good shocks for the rear but they're on my list and I'm going to use a good coilover conversion. Whatever MWC recommends... I've pretty much been leaning on those guys to help me pick out what's best for my setup.
While I know there are a ton of very quick lowered F bodies out there could some of you guys shed a bit of light on how you have your suspension set up? When I bought my MWC 9" we decided that it may be best to use the long torque arm under the car because it's 6 speed, right now I'm in the upper bolt of the front mount, I'll have to massage the exhaust a bit to get into the lower setting, rear control arms do angle up towards the body of the car some but I'm on the very bottom setting of the control arm mounts on the rear to get it to do that. I guess since I'm just trying to figure this out I'm concerned with how drastic do some of the angles need to be or am I just worried over nothing? Currently the car is just sitting on it's factory springs in the rear with heater hose mod and probably a whole coil cut out. On a 27" QTP the tire is about dead even with the lip on the quarter panel as far as height just for a mental visual.
Old 01-10-2020, 02:46 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1,747 Likes on 1,304 Posts

Do you have relocation brackets on the LCA's? Really needed on a lowered car. LCA's angling upwards isn't going to cut it.
Old 01-10-2020, 05:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

It's a MWC Fab 9, yes, it's got extended LCA brackets on it right from MWC, They have 4 adjustment holes.
Old 01-11-2020, 07:34 AM