Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

32MM Front 1LE Swaybar - Installation/Review

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2005, 01:03 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 32MM Front 1LE Swaybar - Installation/Review

Well I'm no professional at write-ups, but I just wanted to let you guys know how my install went. No pics...sorry.

Removing the stock swaybar started out as a breeze, but then I ran into problems with my endlinks. My driver side endlink was damn near impossible to removie, so I moved onto the passenger side and after about 10 minutes I manged to get that one off. Then I went back to the drive side. I sprayed it down with PB blaster and after about 15-20 minutes I finally got that one off, pulled the bolts out of the swaybar bushings and removed the old swaybar.

Onto the exciting part.

I purchased a front 1LE 32MM swaybar from "floman" on here for $55 shipped. I couldn't argue with that because that's around $100 less than an aftermarket one. I knew it would probably be heavier, but it was worth the weight to save $100.

I retained the stock 32MM swaybar bushings that Floyd sent to me because they were in VERY good condtion, but I purchased new endlinks from Thunder Racing. Trying to hold the swaybar in the air and piece together the endlinks was quite a job, so I suggest you get something to hold the swaybar up or have someone help you. My dad got down there and helped me out.

Once we got the endlinks all pieced together we tigtened them up then tightened up the swaybar bushings. I pieced everything back together and finally took it for a drive.

I must say even though I haven't done any spirited driving with it yet, just hitting a couple small curves in my neighborhood and paying attention while I brake I noticed quite a bit of difference.

Even a stock height the car has gotten rid of quite a bit of bodyroll and nose dive while braking.