Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Broken panhard rod, help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 06:29 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Broken panhard rod, help!

I beleive I broke the panhard rond on my 00' WS6.

I was driving home from work and while turning hear a grinding/scraping noise from the left rear of the car.

I pulled into a parking lot and looked under the back and the, I beleive, panhard rod is snapped in two pieces. It's the bar that attaches to the bottom side of the left wheel and runs diagonally up to the other side of the car, the brake line is zip tied to it.

I drove it home and now need to clarify that this is the panhard rod, i'm not an expert. Anyways I obviously need a new part. If I remove the broken pieces is it safe to drive? I have to work in the morning, and I will probably have to order this part form texas speed or somewhere and that takes a while.
Old 02-14-2006, 06:31 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes, it is the pnhrd bar, mine is almost broken too. It keeps ur rear end stable. I think its safe to drive like a grandma, but dont go to fast, correct me if im wrong.
Old 02-14-2006, 06:50 PM
TECH Addict

Yes, it's your panhard bar/rod. I wouldn't drive around without one though, that's one of the main components holding your rear end to the chassis. The others being the LCA's and shocks.
Old 02-14-2006, 06:59 PM
Launching!

I drove home gently with it, I think it was already bent and that weakend it and it just gave out on me today on the way home.

Well, so far i'm leaning towards the BMR chrome-moly adjustable with poly bushings in red powder coat as the replacement. Sound good?

Is there 2 panhard rods on our cars? There is a second similar bar running horizontally above it? What's that thing?
Old 02-14-2006, 07:22 PM
TECH Senior Member

Since your in a bind, check around localy for someone that has a stock one laying around. Do not drive without it.
Old 02-14-2006, 07:27 PM