Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Rack and Pinion leak?! *gasp*

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 10:15 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rack and Pinion leak?! *gasp*

So ya find that my Rack and Pinion needs to be replaced. Mechanics want $1k which is money i dont wanna be spending so i was wondering if there's a write up on how to replace it, or if there's someone in the Olrando area willing to help me replace it, and how much of a bitch its gonna be for me to do it myself if i've never done it before. Any advice or help would be greatly apreciated. thx
Old 05-09-2007, 10:24 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

its not all that difficult.. you do need to get your car jacked up about 1-2 feet (just because it gives you more room to work). Some gear wrenchs come in handy, you need to drain the power steering resevior (basically just take off one of the hard lines and let it drain itself), the rest is straight forward. Get a Haynes or Chilton manual from any autoparts store and follow the instructions.

You can get a whole rack assembly from Autozone for $220.. with core ... once you replace it, make sure you take it to an alignment shop.
Old 05-09-2007, 12:43 PM
11 Second Club

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

like said above its a pretty simple job. 2 bolts to hold the rack on to the k-member and a couple lines attached to the rack.you will also need to remove your tie rods from the spindle. I would suggest getting some new tie rods and installing them while your in there.Also one other bit of advice......measure center tread to center tread on your tires so that your alignment will be good enough to get it to an alignment shop without tearing up your tires
Old 05-09-2007, 01:17 PM
Teching In