Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

SJM ABS/LL installed.... brakes still leaking!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2008, 08:44 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default SJM ABS/LL installed.... brakes still leaking!!

I removed the ABS and installed the SJM ABS/LL kit on my LT1. I double-flared the lines and assembled the kit as is. I did NOT use any plumbers tape. The brakes are still leaking at the brass fittings. They are as tight as they can possibly go... What should I do? Re-flare the lines? Wrap the fittings in tape? I really need some help!! Thanks
Old 07-11-2008, 11:39 AM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The flare is the seal, not the threads. If they are leaking you need to redo your flares.
Old 07-11-2008, 01:38 PM
TECH Regular

it's leaking where exactly? I'm not a brake expert so it's hard to get a visual. I'll tell u though that when I installed mine I put the LL selenoid ( however u spell it) upside down and it kept leaking through the connections. turned it right side up and tightened down, no leaks.
Old 07-13-2008, 05:42 PM
Launching!

i am having this exact problem as well! and im pissed.

i've reflared the lines 3 times and all three times they are perfect. also i've replaced the brass elbows that it seats against with no luck. and from talking to one of the local speed shops about it they said the problem is that the factory lines are metric and sjm is using standard 3/16 fittings.

so i'll more than likely end up replacing the whole brake line and convert it to a 3 channel.

i just think its bullshit you pay $200 for a kit that uses mixmatched fittings and lines, with 2 prebent lines and 2 incomplete prebent lines. it was seriously a total waste of my money, especially since i have to redo everything.
Old 07-13-2008, 11:02 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts