Question for all the engineers in TX

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2008, 08:44 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question for all the engineers in TX

I'm currently a college freshman pursuing my bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering at Texas Tech University. I'm not enjoying my time here as much as I want to and I've considered going back to Houston and just transferring to UH. Besides, I could save a load by living at home.

My question is, how important is the name of the university on a degree? For all the engineers holding higher positions at your companies, how much would it affect your decision to hire someone if they had an engineering degree from Texas Tech compared to a school such as UH?
Old 01-29-2008, 09:10 AM
On The Tree

The honest truth is that usually it is who you know that decides where you get a job. If you are interviewed by someone that also graduated from your school, you have a better chance unless you do something terrible in your interview or just plain dumb to begin with. There are still some recruiters/HR people that still look at your gpr and the school you graduated from though. All of this is just from my experience though.
ME Texas A&M 09'
Old 01-29-2008, 09:29 AM
LS1Tech Co-Founder

Received 46 Likes on 19 Posts

I've interviewed and hired dozens of engineers in my career. Honestly, the school doesn't mean anything to me, or any other upper management people I've worked with. This might not be the case for every degree, but it is safe to say that anyone who survives college and actually gets an engineering degree has proven they have discipline and commitment. As long as the school you go to is an accredited university, it doesn't matter where it is.