Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

What is the best tool and best way to remove a broken tap?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2005, 08:43 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What is the best tool and best way to remove a broken tap?

I'm trying to remove my power steering but on my IRON block I need to tap a new hole, I'm a newbie at tapping and I broke off the tap in the hole and I need to get it out or else figure out a different way to run a shortbelt. Whats the best tool to get out a broken tap and where to I get it from? Any other ideas for this?
Old 01-26-2005, 10:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I doubt you will have any luck, but you can try getting an easy out into the tap and threading it out. Word of advice next time your tapping something. 1/4 turn back for every 1 turn forwards.
Old 01-27-2005, 09:16 AM
TECH Fanatic

Taps are pretty tough. They are about 62-64 on the Rockwell C scale, which is as hard or harder than a good quality high speed steel drill bit. The best way to remove one is by using a sinking EDM machine. I use these at work alot and they work great; burns a hole down the center and removes all but the threaded part of the tap. All you have to do then is go back in with another tap and clean out the threads. You may be able to find a place locally that can do it for a small fee; I have done this before.

If there isn't much of the tap in the hole, like the last 1/4"-3/8" broke off, take a center punch and hammer and hit it in the center and it will break apart (don't try this in aluminum). I've removed a few taps this way. Sometimes there isn't much alternative to breaking it up, but this really won't work if there is much more of the tap than what I said above in the hole.

You could also try drilling it out with a carbide drill. You can get masonary bits at any hardware store. This is not easy to do and you stand a good chance of destroying the threads.

Good luck with it.