Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Advice about self-darkening welding helmets

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2005, 09:08 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Question Advice about self-darkening welding helmets

I'm new to welding. I've purchased a 110 - 20 mig welder, both flux-cored and gas capable. I'm strictly a hobbiest, and plan to use it for sheet metal (patch panels for my 72 GMC srpint), exhaust and minor fabrication. I've read alot about self-darkening welding helmets, and see that I can buy one for as little and $50 (ebay), or for $$hundereds. I've got a cheap fixed lens helmet now, and it's annoying at best, and dangerous at worst (like when I forgot to flip it down when striking an arc). I have several questions about them.

1 - I've seen just solar powered, battery powered, and solar with battery backup. I'll be doing most of my welding either in my garage or in the shade in my driveway. How would a regular solar-powered helmet perform under these lighting conditions? I've read somewhere that the solar powered get power to set the shade from the arc itself. What do you guys think about that?

2 - For the battery powered and battery backups, I've seen lithium and AAA battery power. The AAA are replaceable, but are the lithium's?

3 - Some of the more expesive helmets have mutiple sensors. For a hobbyist like me, is that important?

4 - I've read that the lens actually filters out the UV - so what does the darkening do?

Thanks
Old 10-01-2005, 04:45 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't know all the specifics on those hoods but i do know i used one while building a 42 foot gooseneck....and i have nothing but good things to say about it! It made everything soooo much easier....and by the way this trailer was built in a shop so i was in darker conditions most of the time... i believe my helmet used AAA batteries.
Old 10-01-2005, 08:13 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts