Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Wolfe Mini Tub kit?...

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2005, 06:38 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Wolfe Mini Tub kit?...

This is my first attempt at doing a mini tub. If I can do it anyone can do it so don't be scared to start cutting on your car. The methods I used worked for me. I'm sure there may be easier ways to tackle this project but hey, this is what I did and why I did it.

When is a mini tub necessary?

1. To be able to run a very large tire, move the wheel and tire in and lower the car.

What else is required besides the mini tub?

1. Narrow the rear end.
2. Offset the LCA.
3. Open up the fender well if you want to run a 29.5" or 30" tire.
4. Install LCA relocation brackets. (if you lower the car)
5. Purchace new wheels with a 5" or 5.5" BS depending on the tire you wish to run.
6. 2.5" X 10" springs.
7. adjustable spring perches.

Tools required, these are the tools I used:

1. Goggles to protect the eyes.
2. Saw zaw with metal cutting blades.
3. Electric grinding wheel with grinding and cutting discs.
4. Die grinder with cutting blades.
5. 2' level.
6. Adjustable carpenters square.
7. Welder ( I used a mig )
8. Paint markers.
9. chisel's
10.hammer
11.tape measure
12.hand shears
13.hand tongs
14.Car jack or car lift.
15.drill
16.various drill bits inhcluding 1/8" for rivots
17.caulking gun
18.sanding block
19.Jack stands or car lift
20.resperater while painting and seam sealing
21.Tools for removing rear end and accessories.

What does the Wolfe mini tub kit consist of?
1. Left and right side wheel wells. (requires welding or riviting) I welded.
2. Left and right side frame cups. (requires welding)

Materials Reqiuired:

1. Wolfe mini tub kit (part # FWOL800) $190.00
2. welding materials ($50.00) but I needed wire, tips and tip dip.
3. stainless steel rivits
4. emery cloth ( rough to fine )
5. Scotch pads for metal (purple ones)