Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Any way for a regular Joe to get discounts on SO/Mac/Matco

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 09:41 AM
Tin Foil Hat Wearin' Fool

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any way for a regular Joe to get discounts on SO/Mac/Matco

Like the title says. Right now I have alot of Harbour Freight stuff that I had to buy in order to do some work on my truck and owuld like to start replacing it with "good" stuff and damn theyare expensive
Old 09-13-2006, 10:52 AM
On The Tree

Those manufacturers don't really give discounts. The only "discounted" stuff is in their monthly flyers. And you might get $10 off of something. If you want the best, you have to pay for it. It's unfortunate.....but I feel your pain. I turn wrenches for a living.
Old 09-13-2006, 11:19 AM
TECH Senior Member

As a fellow regular joe, I'll stick with the Sears sales on Craftsman stuff. My socket set has been with me for 13+ years or so, and it's turned TONS of bolts.

I don't pay regular price unless I need a tool *now*. Sears usually has good deals when they put their stuff on clearance. I got a 30-or so piece Craftsman screwdriver set for like $25 recently. They're not the best screwdrivers, but for under a buck a piece you can't do better. A 3-piece set of the big prybars for like $19. Watch the sales at Sears.com and you'll do well.

I love a well built SnapOn, Mac, Matco, etc tool. But the tool truck guys are too much $$ for me.
Old 09-13-2006, 12:53 PM
10 Second Club + 14 Second Truck Club

some trade schools have a snap-on - mac section in their school stores. one here locally does, have a friend that goes there pick up some stuff for you they sell for very cheap and can usually order in anything you want. i got a bunch of snap-on stuff that way for cheap.
Old 09-13-2006, 05:39 PM