Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Tire Rot, this soon? Pic

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 08:17 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire Rot, this soon? Pic

These tires will be two years old in October. They are Z rated Maxxis 275s. I cannot believe they show cracks like these this soon. I never do burnouts just to save the tread, and now they are cracking before I can burn the tread off!

They have about 20k miles on them, and the car never has the luxury of a garage, rarely any shade in the Hot Alabama summer.

How soon should I replace these?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails Tire Rot, this soon? Pic-tire-rot.jpg  
Old 09-05-2013, 07:20 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

im no expert, but i do have history with tires alot worse than those. ive had tires so dry rotted and cracked i was probly in danger driving at speed on them. and as bad as some were, ive never in my life blown a tire, ever. in my younger days, i had tires that were about 100 times that, and did donuts and what turns out to be drifting on them. so i can at least say u have a few years left on them. look at the date stamp on the side and they shud last till 6 years from then.
Old 09-05-2013, 10:13 AM
Staging Lane

Unusual to have the rubber compound between the tread blocks to start cracking so I would contact the manufacturer first to see if there has been a recall that you're not aware of for those tires. (Be sure to have the serial numbers available along with the manufacturing dates when you call.)

Just looking at the photo, it appears that the cracks are superficial so I would continue to use the tires as long as the situation didn't get worse. It might be a good idea to soap bubble check all four tire each tire carcasses off the car to see if you're losing any air.

Gook luck!
Old 09-05-2013, 11:57 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,492 Likes on 1,074 Posts