Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Help-Slicks seem scary

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2005, 01:37 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help-Slicks seem scary

ok I got my slicks on. They are the MT ET Drags 26x8.5-15. I took it for a little drive a mile down the road and back. At around 60+ the rear seems to want to sway back and forth and near 80 its almost scary. Is this how it will feel at the track? and is this because I have regular radial tires up front? or is it because they still have 20psi in them?

I almost afraid to try them at the track for fear of losing control above 80 and going into the wall.

any help would be aprreciated as this is my first time on full slicks.

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 10-08-2005, 06:51 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Dbluegoat
ok I got my slicks on. They are the MT ET Drags 26x8.5-15. I took it for a little drive a mile down the road and back. At around 60+ the rear seems to want to sway back and forth and near 80 its almost scary. Is this how it will feel at the track? and is this because I have regular radial tires up front? or is it because they still have 20psi in them?

I almost afraid to try them at the track for fear of losing control above 80 and going into the wall.

any help would be aprreciated as this is my first time on full slicks.

[IMG][/IMG]
I might be wrong, but its probably a mixture of not on the track, radial's up front that are on a different size wheel, and because they have 20 psi in them. But like I said, I maybe wrong, I dont know a whole lot about slicks.
Old 10-08-2005, 07:46 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

mixing slicks and radials are not a good mix. Always stay with similar manufactured tires front/rear.

What you are feeling is typical when guys mix the two.

Steve
Old 10-08-2005, 08:01 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Why does mixing the tires matter?
Old 10-08-2005, 08:44 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts