Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Need some speaker advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2004, 10:44 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need some speaker advice

Car originally came with the Monsoon setup, which I didn't like, so I swapped it out with the following:

MTX Thunder 4200X amp
Bouston Acoustics RX67 speakers (in doors and back seat speaker locations)
Kenwood KDC-MPV619 MP3 deck

Here's the problem. Since I've had this setup (about three years+), I've blown at least three sets of speakers in the rear. Some of the stuff I listen to is from live recordings where the recording level wasn't great, so I have to crank it up. Plus, there are times where I just like to crank it up anyway.

I'm not very experienced with stereo stuff (I had the system installed), so I don't know if something is wired wrong or if I'm using the "wrong" (i.e. can't take the power) speakers for my amp. Since I'm a novice at this, please excuse any useless information I throw out here:

The amp specs are:
RMS Power measured at 12.5 Volts DC:
25 Watts x 4 into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0.1% Thd+N
50 Watts x 4 into a 2 Ohm load with less than 0.3% Thd+N
100 Watts bridged x 2 into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0.3% Thd+N

Dynamic Power (IHF-202 Std) measured at 14.4 Volts DC
55 Watts x 4 into a 4 Ohm load
100 Watts x 4 into a 2 Ohm load
200 Watts bridged x 2 into a 4 Ohm load

Speaker specs are:
Recommended Amplified Power: 12-160 watts
Nominal impedence: 4 ohms

Head unit specs are:
Operating voltage: 14.4V
Max output power: 50Wx4
Full bandwidth power: 22Wx4

Any suggestions? I hate to keep buying new speakers every year or two.

Thanks

-Mike
Old 11-14-2004, 12:39 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post