Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Sirius and monsoon system

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 02:03 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sirius and monsoon system

I need some help picking out a sirius system for my 98 z28. I plan on sticking with my stock cdplayer monsoon system. What sirius setup should i get? Do I go with an fm modulator or is there a way to use the aux from the stock radio? Any suggestions would help greatly as I am new to all of this.
Old 08-28-2006, 03:01 PM
Staging Lane

nope no stock radio solutione you can get either a starmate R sportster R sportster 4 or S50 is top of the line able to record and sync to a computer to download songs and you can use it as an mp3 player but it is pricey at about $200 with a rebate and definatley get an fm modulator with an antenna adapter and a rev. ant adapter it should sound good i personally have an S50 and love it.
Old 08-28-2006, 03:25 PM
Copy & Paste Moderator

Received 187 Likes on 141 Posts

What stock headunit do you have (CD or Cassette)?
If its a Cassette headunit you can use a GM9-AUX to convert the CD-Changer port to RCA AUX-IN. If its a CD Headunit, you need a mid-1999 or later headunit since the 1998-mid1999 headunits could not control the stock CD-Changer. The only way to tell if a mid99 CD headunit can control a CD-Changer is if you open it up. Because of that, I'd say stick with a 2000 or later unit. If you do decide to swap out to a later headunit, I'd recomment a 2001-2002 unit because supposedly they can handle the stock CD-Changer AND an AUX-IN, otherwise using the GM9-AUX, you'd lose the use of the CD-Changer. But i cant confirm this since I dont have the stock CD-Changer.
Old 08-28-2006, 03:32 PM
Teching In

its the cd player. I was afraid of that.
Old 08-29-2006, 10:36 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by VIP1