Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Manual override switch for EWP question

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2006, 04:26 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Manual override switch for EWP question

Hey, im wondering what kind of switch i would need to get. Im a noob with electronics so i have no clue. From what i have seen at an auto store, ive seen switches with 2 prongs on the end of them and with 3 prongs. Im guessing i would need a 2 prong one? One to go to the wire between the trigger wire from the relay to the power source and the other wire to go to a 12 volt power source for the switch? Some help would be appreciated, thanks.
Old 10-31-2006, 07:59 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 274 Likes on 238 Posts

There are two types of switches that have three terminals. One type is actually a three position switch (On/Off/On) used to control two devices but these aren't commonly found in stock at auto parts stores. The other type is actually a two terminal switch with an extra terminal for lighting - there will be a light in the switch that goes on when the switch is on.

So your choice of two or three terminal switch depends on whether you want a light in the switch or not.
Old 10-31-2006, 10:22 PM
TECH Resident

Ok cool, but am i right about one switch going to the trigger wire and the other one going to a 12v source?
Old 11-01-2006, 07:14 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Think of a switch as an adjustable break in a wire - it can connect or disconnect the wire. So you can use it in any wire that controls your accessory. You can put it in the power lead to the relay (one end to 12V+ and the other to the relay) or you can put it in the ground wire for the relay (one end to ground and the other to the relay). Either way the relay will shut off when the switch is off because it needs both power and ground to complete the circuit.
Old 11-02-2006, 12:23 AM
TECH Resident