Sponsored by: DashLynx

HELP: Touch Ups + Zaino *PICS*

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2005, 02:35 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP: Touch Ups + Zaino *PICS*

Hello all.

After reading various threads in this forum (Here, Here, and Here) as well as surfing those over at autopia, I think I am reading to start detailing. I have never done this before.

I used to own a cavalier and bi-weekly $5 gas station washes were good enough for her. My T/A will never see one of those. I have already purchased the Zaino Total Protection Show Car Kit as well as some Large cotton towels (100% US made cotton), buckets, a wash mit, and some Meguir's interior cleaning products. I am just unsure how to go about dealing with certain paint imperfections before applying the Zaino.

Here are the Pics of my Paint Problems:

HOOD

HOOD 2

HEAD LIGHT

MIRROR

DOOR

DOOR 2

QUARTER

FOG LIGHT

The car is very dirty as it has not been washed yet.

I have bought GM Touch up paint (#01052907, Code 41, WA 8555) and 2000 grit sand paper as well.

Here is what I believe I should do.

- Wash with Dawn Dishwashing Soap to remove current wax
- Apply Touch up paint to above areas with pin needle and let dry several hours
- Wet Sand until smooth
- Wash again with Z7 Car Wash
- Use Z18 Claybar
- Wash again with Z7 Car Wash
- Apply ZPC Abbrasive Swirl remover to remove minor scratches, blemishes, and imperfections.
- Wash again
- Apply ZFX accelerator and Z2 Car polish
- Final coat of Z6 gloss spray

Good? Bad? Totally wrong? Again, I have never done this before and this is all very new to me.

Any help would be appreciated. I have seen some very nice cars on this forum as well as read posts by some very knowledgable people... your input in valued.

Thanks,
- J
Old 08-13-2005, 03:03 PM
TECH Addict

Sounds pretty good, but where are the after pictures?
Old 08-13-2005, 03:06 PM
12 Second Club

I haven't done it yet... I was asking if it was a good plan...