Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4L80/Transbrake newb

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2012, 07:04 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4L80/Transbrake newb

This winter one of my goals for the car is to send one of my cores off to be built to handle the HP being made. To go along with that built trans, there will be a brake installed... Now I am a complete newb when it comes to transbrakes. I've been told that in order to engage reverse, the switch must be pushed and blah blah blah.

I was talking to someone who CLAIMS (no one's ever seen this dude's car) that he ran a pro stick in his 98 firebird and it actually looked pretty good. I was just wondering a) if the information about reverse is true and b) what shifter (if not stock) is everyone running? Any pictures would be helpful too.

Thanks!
Old 09-09-2012, 08:57 AM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by whiteboycntdnce
This winter one of my goals for the car is to send one of my cores off to be built to handle the HP being made. To go along with that built trans, there will be a brake installed... Now I am a complete newb when it comes to transbrakes. I've been told that in order to engage reverse, the switch must be pushed and blah blah blah.

I was talking to someone who CLAIMS (no one's ever seen this dude's car) that he ran a pro stick in his 98 firebird and it actually looked pretty good. I was just wondering a) if the information about reverse is true and b) what shifter (if not stock) is everyone running? Any pictures would be helpful too.

Thanks!
I'm going with a pro stick in mine, and to answer the question is yes you can run a trans brake with any shifter. how a trans brake works is in the valve body, when power is giving to the curcuit for trans brake it engages 1st and reverse while in first gear has nothing to do with the shift lever hope that explains it enough for you. if thats not good enough explanation you can pm Jake Shoe or slow67 for further info good luck.