Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

trans tune question???

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2012, 05:59 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Exclamation trans tune question???

Looking to see what everyones 4l60s are shifting at, when at wot. What are im having a 2-3 shift problem. And have every table matching. Kinda sumped.
Old 09-30-2012, 07:10 PM
Staging Lane

Have you tried lowering the 1-2 shift? Try 4500 rpm @ 20mph, then work your way up. I had the same thing, WOT 1-2 made 2-3 hit limiter way past shift point. Once 1-2 was lowered enough under WOT, shifted 2-3 like a champ street and strip.
Old 09-30-2012, 07:27 PM

Received 389 Likes on 298 Posts

Is the shift occurring just late or is the shift occurring slowly?
"Just late" is a tuning problem.
A slow shift could indicate low pressure due a problem with the Pressure control solenoid, or a bad tune.

Sorry, what Philip Pugeau says makes no sense to me, but I'm no expert and always happy to learn something new.

I have built and track tested several 4L60E which always shift within 100 rpm of the tuned value. I use the Transgo HD2 shift kit, build sub 0.050 3/4 clutch clearance and have 150/225psi line pressure for [D]rive/max.

I tune the WOT 2-3 shift speed at 84mph (3.42 rear) which is about 6000 rpm for me. I then set the WOT rpm anywhere from 6400 to 7000 and that is within 100 rpm of where it shifts, according to my logs.
Old 09-30-2012, 07:54 PM
Staging Lane

Yeah it doesn't make any sense. But it has been my experience that was resolved in this particular way.
Old 10-01-2012, 11:02 AM
Staging Lane

adjusted 2-3 and tested on the street and worked fine. went to the track and car bounced off the revlimter. adjusted alittle more at the track and bounced even worse. have 2-3 rpm at 6000 at 52mph. i lowered it to 48 and bounced off bad. should i go up on the rpm.
Old 10-01-2012, 11:03 AM
Staging Lane

mrvedit, no its not slow its just too late. i have a 3.73.
Old 10-01-2012, 01:42 PM
Staging Lane