Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First-time 4l60e build....opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2014, 03:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default First-time 4l60e build....opinions?

First, let me just say that I've about worn out the "search" function on this one. Second...although a 4l80e might be an "easier" choice, this current build requires use of a 4l60e

I'm in the process of ordering the remaining parts for my first complete 4l60e build. I have ordered many specialty tools to aid in the build process (seal sizers,bushing installers,valve body test plate, etc.), as well as the ATSG manuals. The actual assembly of the unit does not seem too daunting at the moment, but the remaining parts selection does. As this is my first build, I've decided to build it to be as stout as possible without going to the added expense of changing gear ratios. Yes, this build will be overkill for it's current duties...but will hopefully do service in a higher-power build in the future. Right now, it will be responsible for only roughly 450whp behind a Yank ss4000 stall.

I'm looking for feedback/suggestions on remaining parts selection.

Here's what I currently have:

-Sonnax SmartTech input housing and hardened shaft
-Sonnax Smart Shell
-B/W 29 element dual-cage sprag
-Sonnax Billet forward piston
-Sonnax stator support shaft

Here's what I'm looking to purchase soon to complete the build;

-Complete bushing kit with teflon coated pump bushing
-HD pump slide spring
-OEM 5-pinion planetaries (front and rear)
-Wide rear sungear bushing
-Raybestos .062 Blue Plate Special friction module
-Fairbanks Powertow 4l60e kit (includes super servos)
-Red Wide band
-Sonnax Performance Pack # HP-4L60E-01
-Superior "Unbreakable" pump ring kit
-Superior 3-4 clutch rapid relief valve
-Torlon check ball kit