Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"STALL" noobie

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 08:20 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default "STALL" noobie

I tryed to use the search button on this but it doesn't work.

Ok. i am fairly new to modding an ls1 overall and came across many people with these "stalls" 3500k 4000 4400 4500. I have no clue for the most part what the benifit of having one is. Besides a couple posts about how itll shoot you into your TQ band faster and have faster acceleration.

I googled the question, but didnt really get the answers i wanted.

are there any before and after numbers?

Thx for the help.
Old 11-21-2006, 08:22 PM
Humanitarian

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

you dont gain horsepower, a torque converter is not a power mod. it multiplies your torque.

if you want dyno numbers, waste your money on headers, if you want to win the race, buy a torque converter.
Old 11-21-2006, 08:30 PM
12 Second Club

if you want dyno numbers, waste your money on headers, if you want to win the race, buy a torque converter.[/QUOTE]

i still need to buy a stall before i put my cam in but that was a good way to put it...
Old 11-21-2006, 08:39 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hands down the best mod for an A4 car. I was on the fence for a while and went with headers first. I gained for sure with the headers and true duals, but nothing like when I put the stall in. Just about every aspect of driving with the A4 changed. It takes a little more pedal to get moving, the shifts become very soft without the addition of a shift kit or tuning, and WOT blasts equate to instant gratification. No more dead spots, just instant RPM's and instant acceleration. It makes an A4 almost as much fun as a M6.