Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Differential Questions?! Help pls

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 11:27 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Differential Questions?! Help pls

Well I'm new to this first of all I can't figure out why I can't get my differential together.

Last week I messed up my car racing an SS and I what I thought happened was that I messed up my clutch because I couldn't put in gear.
I got home took off the differential cover and my gears were shredded! So I thought no big deal, I'll just upgrade to 4:10 (which are the best choice to go with on a 02 TransAm 6 speed right??) so when I took off my posi unit it turns out I cracked it!! So I was looking for a posi unit ASAP and I didn't want to order 1 because of the wait. I got lucky and found a whole differential off an 02 Camaro SS AUTO. I heard it was the same thing as my TransAm except the standards and Autos had different gears. So I said no big head I just need the posi unit off it. So now it turns out that I have I have a space and it's not fitting as it was with the possi I originally had. I compared the posi units next to each other and they're about the same height expect the little teeth off the camaros possi are not as thick as the ones off my original possi. Also another thing I noticed was that the pinion off the Camaro differential was WAY bigger than the one I had. I heard to buy some spacers but is that safe or there anything else I can do?!?! I hope I explained this good enough for somebody to understand my situation. ANY help is appreciated THANKS!

PS. I bought already my 4:10 gears too.
Old 12-03-2012, 11:52 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post