General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Huge s10 project, building LS1 motor, need some info/help/suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2012, 12:26 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Huge s10 project, building LS1 motor, need some info/help/suggestions

Hello everyone,

I have a 1988 s10 that I will be fully restoring and converting to an LSX/t56 setup. I have a whole list of plans/mods including a school project with voice activated controls/security that I will list in detail for my project build thread later.

right now, I am about 4-5 months away from starting this project, and need to line up all my parts and what I need to buy.

I have done lots of reading on this forum and others about what blocks/heads and that kind of stuff will work with eachother. But I am not a mechanic and know very little technical stuff into knowing what setup would be best. I have alot of knowledge and hands helping me with this project, so I'm not taking on something I don't think I can finish. (have an entire shop with a hot rod racing club with access too all the tools/hands I need)

Based on deals/whats for sale at the time the price will change I know that. What I need to know is exactly everything I'll need in order to build this motor. This will be a weekend warrier, something I want to put the key in and drive. I am not interested in turbos/superchargers or any advance fuel injector/induction setup at this time. But it will see a track visit every now and then.

I'm looking to spend around 3500 on just the motor. Is that resonable for what I want? I'm looking to make 400HP(not at wheels) Am i best to buy a used motor and upgrade the intake/heads or anything like that depending what is already done to it, or should I buy a block and buy everything individually?